Deleting a Facebook message only deletes it from your account — the person or people you sent the message to will still have it. There are several browser extensions that claim to be able to delete all your Facebook messages, but they don’t work reliably.
Does deleting a Facebook account delete messages?
When you delete your account, people won’t be able to see it on Facebook. … Some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account.
What happens to Messenger messages when you delete Facebook?
You delete Facebook messages from your own conversations using the Facebook website on your computer or the Messenger app on your phone. … You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the message and, if you do so, your copy of the conversation is permanently erased.
How do I permanently delete my Facebook messages on both sides?
Steps to Delete Facebook Messages From Both Sides
- On your phone, tap and hold the message you want to delete.
- Then select Remove.
- Tap the Unsend option when asked who you want to remove the message for.
- Confirm your choice when prompted to do so.
Does deleting Facebook delete everything?
What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account? Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added. You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
Are Messenger messages deleted permanently?
Unfortunately, when you delete a message in the Facebook Messenger app, it’s permanently deleted, according to Facebook Messenger’s official policy. … To see if your message is archived, simply go into the Messenger app and search a few keywords in the search bar.
Can deleted Facebook messages be recovered?
Deleted Facebook messages that weren’t backed up cannot be recovered. However, there are other avenues you may be able to exploit to recover deleted Facebook messages. Facebook messages can be backed up to your email account, thereby allowing you to avoid the problem of deleted messages going forward.
Does deleting a conversation on Messenger delete it for the other person?
Yes. Your act of deleting the conversation on your end will not delete the conversation on the other person’s ends. If you were to delete your account, they could still see the conversation, but instead of your name, the other person would see you listed as a ‘facebook user’.
When you delete messages on Messenger does it delete on all devices?
Yes, if you delete a message on messenger it will show it was deleted on your other devices. It will also show to the other people that you have deleted a message.