What does muting an account on Instagram do?

The new feature lets you hide posts in feed from certain accounts, without unfollowing them. With this change, you can make your feed even more personalized to what matters to you. When you mute an account, you can still see posts on their profile page and get notified about comments or posts you’re tagged in.

What happen if you mute someone on Instagram?

Muting someone on Instagram is basically taking a break from them and their content. You keep following them, but none of their content will appear in your news feed. The person that you muted will still be able to see all of your content as normal, and you can still search for and visit each others’ profiles.

How do you know if someone has muted you on Instagram?

Like other social media sites, there’s no definite way to tell if you’ve been muted on Instagram. You aren’t notified when you’re muted, and you can’t go anywhere to see a list of who has muted you.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Does Facebook censor swear words?

Can someone still message you if you mute them on Instagram?

If you mute him, you can still see his messages and stories through his profile and he can see your messages and stories too. … They can message you and call you, but you won’t be notified. You cannot send messages to someone you have blocked, and the messages they send will not reach you.

How do you block someone from seeing your posts on Instagram without blocking them?

Tap Privacy, then tap Story. Tap the number of people next to Hide Story From. Select the people you’d like to hide your story from, then tap Done (iPhone) or tap back in the top left (Android). To unhide your story from someone, tap to unselect them.

Is restrict the same as mute on Instagram?

In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.

How long is someone muted for on Instagram?

When you enable this feature, you won’t get any notification on your device, but you will see all the notifications when you open Instagram. Using this method, you can set a time for mute after which Instagram will mute the notifications automatically. You can choose between fifteen minutes to eight hours.

When you mute someone on Instagram Can you still see their activity?

If someone muted your messages on Instagram, you won’t be able to see their activity status. You will not be able to see the person’s activity status if they have muted your messages on Instagram. Before someone mutes you on Instagram, you should be able to see their activity status.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I make a new Facebook page if I already have one?

How do I hide my Instagram account?

Instagram app for Android and iPhone:

Tap or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile. Tap in the top right, then tap Settings. Tap Privacy. Tap next to Private Account to make your account private.

Can you hide someone on Instagram?

Instagram allows you to hide someone’s posts using the “mute” function.

What is restrict on Instagram?

Restricting a user on Instagram is similar to blocking them—but a little more polite. Whereas blocking a user hides your entire feed and stories from them, the restrict feature simply hides their comments and messages from you while still allowing them to view your posts.