Do twitter direct messages disappear?

Anytime a direct message is deleted by one user, it disappears from both users’ message box. Always save important messages to a document on your computer to prevent the information from being lost if the other user decides to delete a DM.

How long do DMs last on Twitter?

Twitter retains direct messages for years, including messages you and others have deleted, but also data sent to and from accounts that have been deactivated and suspended, according to security researcher Karan Saini.

Why did some of my Twitter DMs disappear?

Why do DM conversations on Twitter disappear when you block someone? – Quora. That is what Twitter planned to that when someone blocks someone else, all the direct messages will be deleted for both users. It might be because of the message abuses and screenshots from messages.

Does Twitter delete DMs after a while?

“DMs are never ‘deleted’—rather only withheld from appearing in the UI,” Saini said on Twitter after TechCrunch published the story. … Saini’s discovery flies against Twitter privacy policy, which says data is only stored for “up to 30 days after deactivation” to allow users to restore their accounts.

Where did all my Twitter DMs go?

It turns out that despite showing that the message was deleted, Twitter still stores all those DMs dating back years. Folks can access this simply by downloading the archived data on their account from Twitter. Saini confirms that even messages sent to and from deleted or suspended accounts are still accessible.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is a deactivated Facebook account deleted?

Does Twitter keep all messages?

Twitter seems to be secretly keeping hold of direct messages between users long after they were deleted, a security researcher has discovered. … “DMs are never ‘deleted’ – rather only witheld from appearing in the UI,” Saini wrote on Twitter.

Will blocking someone on Twitter delete messages?

However, the latest concern that has been brought to light by Twitter users is regarding direct messages. Spotted by lifehacker, upon blocking a person your DM history with them will be immediately erased.

Why are some of my DMS missing?

They might have deleted their account/ changed their username/ blocked you. If the other person deletes it, it also disappears. can anyone help ! Others can delete your messages.

How do you delete Twitter DMS on both sides 2021?

Scroll down and click on “Direct Messages.” Find the offending DM thread and open it up. Hover over the direct message that you want to delete, and you should see a trash can icon. Click on the trash can icon.